top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlex B

What language was that?

Funny how the brain works - while I did learn Spanish for a few years nearly two decades ago, it is not at the forefront of my mind.


Whenever I tried to respond in Spanish the first words in my mouth were Ellinika [Greek], but I was usually able to catch myself (the few times I did not I was met with confusion). And then there were instances where I could not remember the word for "thank you" [in Spanish] for the life of me. Portuguese would occasionally slip out, my aforementioned Greek problem, and occasionally French came to mind - I started learning a few months ago.



All-in-all I have confirmed my suspicion: as one who does not use multiple languages frequently - nor am I fluent - best method wou to refresh with the basics a few months before departure.



The small elemental words that have similarity in their sounds/spelling are a common denominator indicating the influence and regional changes over millennia. This in it of itself is almost as grounding as is the general basic desires of human life, no matter the country or continent. While it is relatively easy to assume the purveyed 'us verses them' mentality, the human condition is much more pervasive than one may think.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page