top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlex B

Traveled, Found My Sol, and Jammed

Saturday began quite pleasantly. Waking from my nap just before arrival, upon touchdown I had notification from Marriott that my room was ready - I had advised them Friday that I would be at the hotel by 8am.

Freshening up with a quick shower and messaging Zach (my brother) I was off to brunch. A quiet peaceful place for a morning stroll.

Walking towards BLOX (Danish Architecture/Cultural Center)


Union Kitchen. After my snack and some refreshments, Zach arrived so I shared a second meal. Good fantastic and staff ever so polite - Union Kitchen is known among locals.



After some wandering around and catching up it was time to visit the Design Museum. Turns out a fantastic stop to spurn the mind and spoke ones creativity and hopefulness.


Chair by Hans J Wegner


Break. Cocktails in the square.


Arriving back at the hotel early afternoon, Marriott had arranged a welcome block party for me: food trucks, DJ, drinks, and dockside swimming...

Actually, it just happened to be beautiful weather and both sides of the river were pockets of people chilling and relaxing in the sun, and boating on the water. I laughed at the thought of Americans being able to behave so well - especially without railings...


After a short reboot and a drink outside, it was off to our dinner - tickets for ILUKA.

We settled on the Chef's choice 5-course menu and wine pairing (Chef owner Beau Clugston formerly worked most recently at Noma).


Our meal was a wonderful delicious blend of vegetables and seafood - the lemon buttered Sol just before a delightful dessert. We topped off the meal with a private homemade batch of Lemonchelo, taking me right back to the Italian coastal village of Vernazza.


Upon suggestion we headed up the street to find Tata's for some classic cocktails. To everyone's surprise the adjoining hotel had a piano...I was sitting down enjoying my first jam in months on a beautiful custom baby grand, before even finishing my first drink.



My brother having only just returned to Berlin 12-hours earlier after two weeks in Australia was beginning to feel the night. A quick stop back at the hotel and I was back out to investigate.



One outdoor bar, lightning, and a few rain drops later, I began making my way back to the hotel and settled in for some dryer drinks indoors with not far to go.

After some engaging conversation with none other than - a Bostonian - it was time for a short walk in the night air and off to bed.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page