top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlex B

Sail the River (Tagus)

If you think this bridge looks familiar, that's probably because it does. San Francisco's Oakland Bay Bridge and Lisbon's Ponte de 25 Abril were both designed by the same architect and built by the same company. However, due to its color, most often draws comparisons to the Golden Gate Bridge.

Built in 1966, a train deck was added to the Ponte de 25 Abril in 1999.

I was going to write a review of my delicious dinner Wednesday night, but Thursday morning I awoke early with the pains of food poisoning. Having chartered a boat Wednesday evening: I flushed my system, hydrated, napped, and pretended I felt okay - I wasn't giving up on my last minute sailing experience. This also meant I wasn't feeling well enough to visit any museums or eat much at all .


Bavaria37


Watching "Coyote: the Mike Plant Story" the other night, my urge to go sailing was reignited. Happily, the local guide book my taxi driver handed me upon arrival had many sites to see, places to eat, and things to do - sailing being among them.

I charted a boat with Lisbon4Sailing - no other bookings so I negotiated a private 4-hour trip/sailing lesson. Two skippers accompanied me and gave me a crash course (the second was a last minute addition - more familiar with english) covering basic safety and operations; I was later told I am a quick learner.

This Bavaria37 (which they only just received recently) is just a 'bit' bigger than the 14-foot Phantom I am familiar with, but sure did handle beautifully.

Historic city center.




The old city.


I sailed all the way back into the harbor (one has to account for the tide in this large river upon approach). After bringing her in safely, I was asked if I'd like to park as well - I almost thought he was serious - I'm sure I'd have hit another boat or frantically used the bow thrusters, clearances were of a couple feet.


One last comment about my trip thus far: it sure is pleasant to not be signing waivers and filling out forms for any and every activity like back at home. Meet with a handshake, introductions, pay some money, and you are good to go. No paperwork. No signatures.


44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page