top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlex B

One Night Stand: Helsinki

TUESDAY 26th NOV - Using some of my usual sources, it turned out several recommendations were with in one-half mile from my hotel.

My second pick made the night. Arriving around 9/9:30pm, it was quiet (it was Tuesday), but after getting seated at the bar Linnéa appeared from behind the curtain and the evening began. A rather genial gal, she was quick to take care - and puts craft in cocktails. What I had mistaken as sliced grapefruit turned out to be trial jello shots - made in left over orange rind: extended use of food products and no plastic cups. There would be a few samples throughout the evening.

A short time after my arrival a young couple happened in, joining me at the bar. One thing lead to another and soon the four of us were covering topics ranging from work and politics, to life, drinks, and fun.

As it would turn out, Céline and Nick live in Ghent, so when I mentioned my holiday plans, they graciously provided me a list of stops to make for food, drink, and fun, in both Gent and Brussels.

Céline had just earlier received an Entrepreneurial Award at an EU event (held in Helsinki this year) , placing top three in a field of three-hundred - impressive - keep up that great work.

One of the more interesting liquors on the shelf is a new to market (earlier this year) Amazonian gin called Canima. Produced by local villagers, they have partnered with a Venezuelan distributor to get to market. It is among the most aromatic, intriguing, strong (literally) gin I have ever tasted.

The 01:00 close time ended up pushing it towards 02:00. Overall a very restful social evening with great people filled with laughs and smiles.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page