top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlex B

Lifetime Achievement Award

Updated: Nov 27, 2019

I do not go out often lately, but I have earned recognition at an airport bar - a warm welcome and a "where are you off to this time!" Maybe I travel more than I think.

First stop: Helsinki, Finland.

Not sure what has been better, the hour long relax and rejuvenate massage at the St. George care center where I seemed to float away or the local ingredients only restaurant - Atelje Finne (2019 Michelin -http://www.ateljefinne.fi/ ). The massage was spectacular, but the 3 course meal I paired with drinks/wine... Delightful.

Remainents if the braised pork cheek.

The pear sorbet with an anise caramel sauce - incredible.

I cannot recall all the menu ingrediants, but Atelje is worth a visit should you take a break in northern Europe. Helsinki has a very walkable downtown and plenty of transportation options.

And St. George - what a spot - compared to a mini museum with hotel rooms, over 300(?) Works of art adorn the walls.


https://www.stgeorgehelsinki.com/journal/an-art-gallery-in-a-hotel-ai-weiweis-dragon-welcomes-visitors-to-hotel-st-george ). Spacious hallways give way to outswing room entry doors (a little confusing). The quaint rooms are unique and interesting; all around great amenities and comfort.

A thank you to Sabel for the tension release after a long flight. Four months of chiropractic visits mixed with massages and these knots in my back are finally getting loosened up. Although my doctor said it best: "I think travel agrees with [your body]." Doctor Robichaud, I couldn't agree more.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page