top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlex B

End of the Run

Updated: Feb 23, 2020

Well. It sure has been a fantastic week in Berlin. I bumped into some familiar faces as well as new; coworkers and/or new aquaintances of my brother (Zach).

Saturday was a special day - in fact the sole reason I flew out to Berlin: first dinner night for my brother.

As had most of the week gone, I slept in just a little (perhaps). We grabbed breakfast at Southern Vittles; I was due standard black coffee and some biscuits/gravey/eggs to boot. Delicious and fulfilling - really all one wants (and my first time having biscuits/gravey over one year ago).

Following some shopping and down time. My brother packed bags and we jaunted towards La Cave, but before long I had to split and meet my appointment at the bunker museum. A private collection from the Borrow family, currently exhibiting showing number three (they rotate a new showing every four years).

After my museum tour (no photography permitted - apologies), I shot back to the flat to change quick and head to the wine bar.

Upon arrival (+2 hours before opening) I settled into helping prepare in what ever manner seemed fit.

Never mind the day - prepping for a 20-person pop up dinner is quite the task. After spending two days working towards it, tonight was a culmination of all the prep.

Starting with the menu, my brother had a sequence of preparation for all the dishes.

Prepping the 200g duck breasts for sou vide.

Showing me how to prepare the house cured salmon appetizer (absolutely delicious with the sake wine pairing)

Preparing the house cured salmon.

With the first round ready while bread and fresh churned local butter were being served, just a few more place settings were required...

At this point I was kicked out of the kitchen and told it was time I join my seat at the first table.

Meanwhile, some more prep ensued.

Upon my departure to the tables, it was time to complete the main dish; and begin serving the others!

Ahh yes, the main dish - positively delicious. As were all the others!

The wine pairings and food really popped. Just absolutely delightful; a few tables ordered second rounds of the cured salmon or cheesecake. A thanks to Allan for the candid shots. The night was a blast - a wonderful group of friends and aquaintances sitting down for a relaxing and delightful meal.

And of course - no event is complete without the post party celebration - a thank you to Michael and Frieda.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page