top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlex B

De Ja Vu


View from BASE - outdoor bar in park


PORTO, 13 NOV - And back in Portugal! Why not spend a couple nights before continuing on to Morroco. Weather is sunny instead of wet taking some of the chill out of the air.


Interior perspective - Zenith Caffe


Began my morning at my favorite breakfast spot - Zenith Caffe - after dropping my luggage. Two breakfasts and two hours later I decided I better move along before I became a resident. Shared my sketch with some of the staff (whom I met two weeks ago) before leaving.


Some WWI ceremonies taking place. I enjoyed a sunny walk down to a rooftop park, where I found an outdoor bar surrounded with olive trees. Having already had my morning dose of tea and coffee to ward off my cold, I settled for something a little stronger (it is 11am after all).


After doing a warmup sketch on what turned out to be a somewhat innocuous building, the sun had shifted and I gave the clock tower a shot - more of a gesture sketch with some details I filled after.


Torre dos Clerigos


Sketching is a lot like playing piano: don't look at your hands, study and sense your subject.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page