top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlex B

Alive In Porto

Plane being the fastest and most convenient means of travel, I booked a last minute flight to Porto. Unfortunately, mine was the only flight where the luggage belt took over 40 minutes to produce anything - giving me enough time to wonder if perhaps all our luggage was lost mid-flight - maybe the lurching brakes were of a larger problem (could have been a great drop test for my NorthFace duffle).


I lucked out with the best taxi driver I've ever met - expedient, able to dodge stopped cars, drove in the "bus" lane to avoid traffic, and even pissed off some pedestrians - I was at Grande Hotel de Paris in short time. Built in 1877 (the oldest hotel in Porto), notable is the mostly original interior, including a phone booth (yes, built in) and an old operator's patch panel on display.

As an aside, perhaps we should reinstitute phone booths and have them the only place one receives cell service (how much would that inconvenience everyone). I give this hotel a high rating for character - and most likely to be haunted.


With my appetite coming back I walked to a nearby burger joint - best burgers ever (I went up for seconds) and home made potatoe chips bar none (sorry JD's). Cooked rare/medium rare and absolutely delicious. And who can turn down a fresh sesame bun.


Back at the hotel I had a coffee and napped outside.


Upright grand (center), phone booth recessed (left).


I tried playing an old French piano, but the tuning is a bit too far out for any enjoyment (whether me playing or others listening).

Boisselot upright grand, 1889-1891.


Currently enjoying a gin&tonic here while I ponder complicated topics of this world and write this posting - also what I may want for dinner in 4 hours.


Two more days and my Habitat build begins.


40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page