top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlex B

3 hours in 2

Updated: Oct 21, 2018

FRIDAY:

There are miles of trails that connect the five coastal towns of Cinque Terre. Along the coast travelers are charged €7.50 (each), but hiking up in the hills is free. The trails are conveniently well marked - a distinctive red/white tagging let's you know you are heading somewhere.

As was recommended to me, I found the hillside route much more scenic and I completed the trek from Vernazza to Monterossa in about 2-hours - later I learned travelers are advised to plan on 3 (and I agree).



Views of Vernazza from up high makes one appreciate the 1300-foot climb, with the ocean glimmering in the distance.


Winding tracks throughout the hillside provide growers ease of access.


The traverse towards Monterossa is a bit less strenuous. Passing some cliff jumpers along the way - they were gliding above the village via parachute - surely some great views.



I almost took the train or perhaps a boat back, but returned along the coastal trail - in 1 hour - thankfully a trail with more shade. I was too tired to be troubled to take photographs at this point and stopped only occasionally to catch my breath.


Grabbing dinner at 7pm with my neighbors, afterwards around 9:30, the hiking had caught up with me. Being too tired to sit bar-side for drinks I headed to bed - finding myself still dressed and the light on at 2:30am...some much needed rest.


40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page